DIY: Giant Bow and Headband with Bow

WP_002501-horz

Left: Doom Dara giant bow, Right: Kiki’s bow from Kiki’s Delivery Service (prototype)

I did a short DIY in my previous post, so I wanted to make a separate post for the bows I made for my Doom Dara and Kiki cosplay. (The picture shown for Kiki’s bow is actually the prototype – not the final product) I’m not doing a full tutorial since I followed the one here:

This tutorial is straightforward and very useful. The only problem was that she didn’t clarify what interfacing to purchase. As a beginner to sewing I had to ask around to understand the different weights of interfacing. Basically, the heavier the interfacing the more firm or stiff the material will be. Also, fusible was a word I kept seeing while interface shopping. I guess it just means “iron-onable.” (I just made my own word! Haha)

WP_002663

Doom Dara Giant Bow

What I used:

  • 1 yard of white fabric
  • Fusible, midweight interfacing

 Kiki’s Headband with Bow

What I used:

  • ½ yard of red fabric
  • Fusible, midweight interfacing

If you’re wondering how my cosplays are going, you might question if I’ll have everything ready for Nekocon haha. I am still missing the red shoes for Kiki, and I have yet to decide if I want to make or buy the yellow bag she carries around. I’m not going to bother about the broom. I can’t afford to make another prop right now since I’m struggling with Doom Dara’s giant microphone. The microphone has come a long way but there’s still so much to do.

WP_002659

I did a patch job of paper maché on the body to go over the spots that were a bit soft. Since I am pressed for time I’m skipping out on one extra layer of news paper (hopefully this won’t hurt me!) to put down the 2 layers of white paper. The white paper is supposed to act as a primer for when I start painting. The weather has been awfully cold lately and that is delaying the drying process. I’m hoping to have all the paper maché completed by Wednesday to allow the microphone to dry for the rest of the week and the weekend.

Leave a Reply

